Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: New Notebook with Windows 7 and Issues  (Read 2497 times)

swofky

New Notebook with Windows 7 and Issues
« on: November 25, 2010, 02:23:49 PM »
Greetings!

I have an HP G72 series notebook given to me as a gift two weeks ago.  It was purchased at an Aaron's rental place and Aaron's has some stuff on it to track it, I guess.  Anyway, I can't reformat it as long as my friends who purchased it for me are paying for it.

It's a beautiful unit, but there are issues.  Was wondering if anyone might have some suggestions as to how I might resolve them.

The system:  Intel P6 100 @ 2.00 GHz, 320 GB HDD, 6 GB DDR RAM, running Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit.  This is my first experience with an HP computer and also with 64 bit systems.

First thing, I uninstalled Norton's with the Norton Removal Tool and attempted to install AVG as I have a subscription to it and it's my favorite AV of all time; however, AVG won't install - error code 0xC0070643.  Contacted AVG 9 days ago and have gotten no help from them.  Now using the MSE that came with Windows, SpywareBlaster, and SuperAntiSpyware, paid version, and MalwareBytes. The only one in startup is MSE - - so the others don't start up unless I initiate them so there're no conflicts.

Secondly, the Alt+F4 keyboard command won't work.  Bummer.  Anyone know how to make it work?

Thirdly, today I discovered all the restore points had deleted since yesterday, with no command from me to do so.  I enlarged the disk space allowed for System Restore and set another point and so far it's still there.